A police department representative will contact you concerning this matter after receiving your complaint. You may be asked to file a formal statement or complaint and to cooperate in an internal affairs investigation.
Texas law requires that all complaints against police officers be in writing and signed by the person making the complaint. The person who was wronged must file the complaint; other persons may give statements as witnesses.
Please take the time necessary to complete the following form. Give specific informationconcerning the details of your misconduct allegation.
Differences of opinion between police officers and citizens over the issuance of traffic tickets, or for the guilt or innocence of persons arrested, will not be investigated unless there is specific allegation of misconduct against an officer.
Intentionally making false complaints or allegations against police officers is against the law under Chapter 37 of the Texas Penal Code. This information is not intended to intimidate the complainant or any witness, but is provided to avoid retaliation against police officers or departmental staff. A person who commits this offense can be charged with crimes ranging from a Class B Misdemeanor to a 3rd Degree Felony. Punishments can range from 180 days in jail to 10 years in prison and a fine not to exceed $10,000, if convicted.
Reporting Person Information
State the details of your complaint and the acts of misconduct that you allege against the police department employee.*
* indicates a required field