2019 Bond Program

Bond Logo without text tiny

City of New Braunfels 2019 Bond Special Election Called

On Monday, February 11th, New Braunfels City Council voted unanimously to call for a 2019 Bond Program Special Election on May 4th, 2019.

The election is the culmination of a one-year development process that included the formation of a Bond Advisory Committee, sixteen public input meetings, and preliminary engineering reports on an initial slate of potential projects presented by the BAC, and final selection by City Council.

The Development Process

January – March 2018

BAC developed recommended projects list for City Council consideration

April – September 2018

Council selected projects from the list of recommendations, added several additional projects, and those projects underwent preliminary engineer and evaluation

October – November 2018

BAC received projects preliminary engineering reports and evaluations and finalized 2019 Bond Program recommendations for City Council

November 2018 – February 2019

City Council evaluated and finalized the 2019 Bond Program projects and called for a May 2019 election

Proposition 1: Streets 

Goodwin/Conrads Lane Reconstruction      $                                                         21,397,150 

Klein Road Reconstruction- Phase 2                                                                      13,000,800 

Citywide Streets Improvements                                                                               15,000,000 

Additional Streets Funding (the extensions of FM 306 and Business 81)                  3,114,540 

Total Streets Investment      $                                                                                52,512,490 

Contribution of Roadway Impact Fees                                                                      (8,000,000)

Total Bond Proceeds - Proposition 1      $                                                                 44,512,490 


Proposition 2: Parks and Recreation 

All Abilities Park Enhancements      $                                                                             500,000 

Comal Cemetery Wall Stabilization                                                                              5,262,500 

Sports Field Complex Construction - Phase 1                                                            25,784,920 

Total Parks and Recreation Investment      $                                                          31,547,420 

 NBEDC contribution                                                                                                 (15,000,000)

 Total Bond Proceeds - Proposition 2      $                                                                 16,547,420 


Proposition 3: Public Safety

Fire Station #2 Replacement      $                                                                                7,367,500 

Fire Station #3 Replacement                                                                                         6,736,000 

Police Department Facility                                                                                           36,311,250

Total Public Safety Investment      $                                                                         50,414,750

Total Bond Proceeds - Proposition 3      $                                                                   50,414,750 


Proposition 4: Library 

Westside Community Center expansion      $                                                               5,525,340 

 Total Library Investment      $                                                                                       5,525,340 

Total Bond Proceeds - Proposition 4     $                                                                     5,525,340


2019 Bond Program Investment 

Total Future Investment      $                                                                                    140,000,000 

Tax Notes - Preliminary Engineering Reports                                                               3,000,000 

Total Investment      $                                                                                              143,000,000 

Contribution of Roadway Impact Fees                                                                        (8,000,000)

NBEDC Contribution to Sports Complex - Phase 1                                                  (15,000,000)

Total Bond Issuance - 2019 Bond Program      $                                      120,000,000

These investments are projected to result in a total of $120M in debt issuance, which includes the $3M already issued for the preliminary engineering reports and $117M for bond projects, which will appear on the May ballot.

Voting Information

The last day to submit an application to register to vote in this election is April 4th.

Early Voting: Comal County Elections Office @ 396 N. Seguin Avenue

Monday, April 22:  8am-5pm

Tuesday, April 23:  8am-5pm

Wednesday, April 24:  7am-7pm

Thursday, April 25:  8am-5pm

Friday, April 26:  8am-5pm

Saturday, April 27:  9am-1pm

Monday, April 29:  7am-7pm

Tuesday, April 30:  8am-5pm  

Election Day Voting: Saturday, May 4:  7am-7pm

District 1:  Westside Community Center @ 2932 S IH35

District 2:  First Church of the Nazarene @ 210 W Klein Rd

District 3:  Seele Elementary School @ 540 Howard St

District 4:  Faith United Church of Christ @ 970 N Loop 337

District 5:  Lamar Elementary School @ 240 N. Central Ave

District 6:  Walnut Springs Elementary School @ 1900 S Walnut

View 2018 Presentations from Bond Advisory Committee Meetings
January 9th
January 17th
January 23rd
October 29th, 2018
​November 12th

Bond Advisory Committee Members

Representing Name
Chair Ray Still
Mayor Wes Studdard
District 1 Teresa Hendon
District 2 Garry Montgomery
District 3 Larry Hammonds
District 4 Jan Kotylo Morton
District 5 Bob Gray
District 6 Jennifer Hillyer
Downtown Board David Kneuper
Library Advisory Board Amy Stone
NBIDC Board Stuart Hansmann
NBU Board Atanacio Campos
Parks & Rec. Advisory Board John Mathis
Planning Commission Lee Edwards
River Advisory Committee Dick Hillyer
Watershed Advisory Committee Stephen Hanz
Historic Landmark Commission Christine Gonzalez
Arts Commission Dee Buck
At-Large Joe Castilleja
At-Large Alice Jewell
At-Large Lori Archer
Guadalupe County Commissioners Court Jack Shanafelt
Comal County Commissioners Court Scott Haag